Guides / website-maintenance

What Do WordPress Maintenance Plans Cost, and Do You Need One?

By Ryan Goering, CEO, BaaDigi · Last updated October 2026 · 29 sources checked

Most WordPress maintenance plans start at $39–$99 a month for one site: WPCare and GoWP’s paid Pro plan at $39, WP Buffs at $89, and Fixmysite and WebCare Studios at $99 (Fixmysite’s yearly billing is $89)[1][2][3][4][5]. Top tiers from those companies run $99–$799 a month, and premium firms charge more: SiteCare’s Diamond plan is $2,190 a month and Valet’s featured plan is $2,000[6][7]. The money buys software updates, backups, monitoring, security cleanup and, on most tiers, a small allowance of edits. WordPress needs this upkeep because most of its security flaws arrive through add-ons: Patchstack’s 2026 report found that of 11,334 new WordPress-ecosystem vulnerabilities in 2025, 91% were in plugins, 9% in themes and only six in WordPress itself[8]. The biggest buyer warning: check what an “edit” means before you pay. Allowances range from none to unlimited[3], and several plans cap each task at about 30 minutes[1][2][9].

BaaDigi sells website maintenance and management, so we compete with companies named on this page. Every outside figure below is from the company’s own pages or a public source, so you can check it.

What do WordPress maintenance plans cost?

A WordPress maintenance plan (also sold as a WordPress care plan or WordPress website management) is a monthly fee for someone to keep the software behind your site updated, backed up and watched. A “plugin” is an add-on that gives WordPress a feature it does not have on its own, such as a contact form; a “theme” controls how the site looks. Below are the eight WordPress maintenance providers we checked, with the prices on their own pages on October 1, 2026.

WordPress maintenance plan prices, one site, as published on October 1, 2026. Prices are billed monthly unless stated
CompanyEntry plan and priceTop plan and priceBilling periodEdits included
WP BuffsMaintain, $89 a month[3]Custom, $359 a month[3]Monthly; a yearly plan gets “2 months free,” and the FAQ says yearly means paying for about 10 months up front[10]Maintain: not stated. Protect ($179) and up: unlimited website edits[3]
GoWPFree, $0 per site a month; Pro, $39 per site a month[2]Business, $99 per site a month[2]Month to month, per site; “The list price is the price”[2]Free: 5 AI edits a month. Pro: 15 AI edits. Business: 50 AI edits plus 5 human edits of about 30 minutes each[2]
SiteCareGold, $435 a month or $4,680 a year[6]Diamond, $2,190 a month or $23,880 a year[6]Monthly, or annual at the yearly prices shown in the plan columns[6]Gold: 5 content edits and 5 quick fixes. Diamond: 10 content edits, endless quick fixes and a 10-hour block of expert time[6]
WP SitePlanEssentials, $59 a month per site, shown beside a struck-through $79; the page does not make clear which is the regular price or when the $59 ends[9]Enterprise, $229 a month per site, shown beside a struck-through $279[9]Per month; contract terms not stated on the pricing page[9]Essentials: none listed. Professional ($119): edits to existing pages. Enterprise: help desk tasks of about 30 minutes each, no limit on how many[9]
FixmysiteMaintenance Plan, $99 a month, or $89 a month on yearly billing (the page headline “from $89/month” is the yearly price)[4]Performance + Hosting, $499 a month ($459 yearly); Performance without hosting is $239 ($209 yearly)[4]Month to month, or yearly billing, which lowers each plan by $10 to $40 a month (yearly prices are in the page’s own code behind its billing toggle)[4]Small 30-minute repairs on every plan; Security ($159) and up add small tasks[4]
WebCare StudiosCare, $99 a month, billed monthly[5]Scale, $799 a month, billed monthly[5]Monthly; an annual option says “2 months free,” annual prices not captured[5]Care: hourly billed. Care Plus ($199): 30 minutes a month, rolls forward. Commerce: 2 hours a month. Scale: 6 hours a month[5]
WPCareBasic, $39 a month[1]Enterprise, $159 a month[1]Month to month[1]Basic: none. Premium ($89): about 30 minutes of small edits. Enterprise: about 60 minutes[1]
ValetFeatured plan: Professional, $2,000 a month (the only plan price we found)[7]Other tiers not found[7]Shown as a monthly price; Valet’s maintenance page asks for six months to learn your site and 30 days’ notice to end a plan[7][11]5 support hours a month[7]
BaaDigi (our own offer; not WordPress, the site is rebuilt on Next.js)AI Website Management, $97 a month plus $300 one-time setup[12]Foundation Engine, $297 a month plus $700 setup[12]Month to month, no contract[12]$97: no done-for-you changes; you make content changes with your own Claude Code or Codex CLI subscription. $147 plan: one request a month, up to 30 minutes. $297: changes done for you[12]

WP SitePlan shows a crossed-out price beside each plan ($79, $149, $279) and a lower price ($59, $119, $229), with no label saying which is regular or when the lower price ends[9]. Ask before you sign up which price you will pay after the first bill.

Two notes on reading the table. WP Buffs’ plans page still carried a Black Friday discount banner that ended December 3, 2025; the prices above are its full prices[3]. And every price is for one site: WP Buffs says each website requires its own plan, and GoWP and WP SitePlan price per site[3][2][9].

Outside estimates land in the same place. Pantheon’s learning-center guide (Pantheon is a web host) puts plans at roughly $30 a month to $5,000 or more[13]. DreamHost’s blog (DreamHost is also a web host), updated August 26, 2026, says plans are “typically priced from around $50 to over $1,000 per month”[14]. For what maintenance costs on any platform, see our guide to website maintenance cost.

Why does WordPress need maintenance?

Because a WordPress site is software that keeps changing underneath you, and most of that software is written by third parties. That is not a knock on WordPress. It runs 40.2% of all websites, a 58.7% share of sites whose content management system can be identified[15], and the security reports below place most problems in plugins, not in WordPress itself.

What WordPress.org’s own documentation says:

  • Core updates: since WordPress 3.7, minor and security releases install automatically, and “you don’t have to lift a finger” if your site is capable of one-click updates without entering FTP credentials[16]. The core developers turned this on “out of the box,” and switching it off “is strongly discouraged”[17].
  • Major releases: WordPress.org’s documentation says that starting with WordPress 5.6, new installations have automatic updates enabled for both minor and major core releases by default, unless WordPress detects a version control checkout. Existing installations keep the previous behavior unless major core auto-updates are enabled by a site administrator, constant, or filter[17]. Older instructions say you still need to click “Update Now” for major feature releases[16].
  • What else automatic updates cover: translation files are auto-updated by default, and plugins and themes are updated automatically only “in special cases,” as determined by the WordPress.org API response, which WordPress.org says is controlled by the WordPress security team for patching critical vulnerabilities[17].
  • Plugin updates: automatic updates for plugins arrived in WordPress 5.5; you can enable them for individual plugins[18]. WordPress.org warns: “Always make sure you have a current backup of your site before updating your plugins. Sometimes problems can happen during the update process”[18].
  • Pace: a major release cycle usually lasts around four months[19]. Between July 9 and September 22, 2026, six 7.0.x point releases shipped (7.0.1 to 7.0.6)[20]. The release archive says “Only the most recent in the 7.1 series is safe to use and actively maintained”[20].

Then there is PHP, the programming language WordPress runs on, which your host supplies; WordPress.org recommends a host that supports PHP 8.3 or greater[21]. The PHP project supports each version fully for two years, then for two more years with critical security fixes only[22]. As of October 1, 2026, security support for PHP 8.2 ends December 31, 2026[22]. Someone has to move the site to a newer PHP version and check nothing breaks.

Where the security flaws are, by report. Patchstack, Wordfence and Sucuri all sell WordPress security services, so read their figures with that in mind:

New WordPress-ecosystem vulnerabilities by report and year. Counts as each publisher reports them
Report (publisher)Year coveredNew vulnerabilitiesPluginsThemesWordPress core
State of WordPress Security in 2026 (Patchstack)202511,334, up 42% on 2024[8]91%[8]9%[8]6, all low priority[8]
State of WordPress Security in 2025 (Patchstack)20247,966[23]96%[23]4%[23]7[23]
2024 Annual WordPress Vulnerability and Threat Report (Wordfence)20248,223, roughly 68% up on 2023[24]96%[24]not captured5[24]

Patchstack and Wordfence give different totals for 2024 (7,966 and 8,223) Each company counts the entries in its own database, and neither report explains the gap[23][24]. Both agree on the share: 96% in plugins.

The reports also put the numbers in context. Wordfence found 58% of 2024’s vulnerabilities were in software with fewer than 10,000 active installs, and rated over 68% as low risk to most site owners because exploiting them needs a login or user action[24]. On the other side, Patchstack found 46% of 2025’s vulnerabilities had no fix from the developer by the time they were made public, and about half of high-impact ones were exploited within 24 hours[8].

Neglect shows up in cleanup data too. Sucuri’s 2023 Hacked Website & Malware Threat Report, based on 39,594 sites its team cleaned plus 108,122,130 remote scans from January to December 2023, found 39.1% of content management systems (all CMSes, not WordPress alone) were out of date at the point of infection, and 13.97% of compromised sites had at least one vulnerable plugin or theme when cleaned[25]. That is a share of Sucuri’s own sample, not of all sites.

What does a WordPress maintenance plan actually do each month?

Only what each company lists on its own plan page:

  • Updates: weekly WordPress updates at WP Buffs and Fixmysite[3][4]; weekly on WPCare Basic[1]; automatic updates with visual checks on GoWP Pro[2]; plugin, theme and core updates tested by a person at WebCare Studios[5]; updates tested on a staging copy first at SiteCare[6].
  • Backups: four cloud backups a day at WP Buffs[3]; daily offsite backups at Fixmysite[4]; daily with 90 days of history on GoWP Pro[2]; daily, kept 30 days and test-restored on a staging copy at WebCare Studios[5]; weekly on WPCare Basic, daily on Premium[1].
  • Monitoring: 24/7 uptime monitoring at WP Buffs[3]; uptime, SSL and WordPress version monitoring even on GoWP’s free plan[2]; security and uptime monitoring at Fixmysite and WebCare Studios[4][5].
  • Security: a firewall, brute-force login protection and malware scans and removal on WP SitePlan Essentials[9]; daily security scans and cleanup on GoWP Pro[2]; malware removal on Fixmysite Security and WP Buffs Perform[4][3].
  • Reports: monthly at Fixmysite, weekly or monthly at GoWP, a monthly summary at WebCare Studios[4][2][5].
  • Edits and fixes: the allowances in the table above, from none to unlimited.
  • Higher tiers add speed and image optimization (WP Buffs Perform, Fixmysite Performance)[3][4], WooCommerce checkout monitoring (WebCare Studios Commerce)[5], and SEO, accessibility and user-journey monitoring (SiteCare Diamond)[6].

Response times are part of what you buy. Fixmysite lists an average of 8 hours on its Maintenance and Security plans and 4 hours on Performance[4]; WP Buffs says 2–6 hours to reply and 24–48 hours to resolve, depending on the ticket[10]; WP SitePlan aims to finish help desk requests within 1–2 business days[9].

What is not included in a WordPress maintenance plan?

  • Edits beyond the allowance. WP Buffs’ unlimited edits cover page content, banners, plugin settings and CSS, but not custom development, graphic design or content creation[3]. SiteCare sells out-of-scope work in 5-hour blocks of expert time[6]. GoWP charges $30 for 10 extra AI edits[2]. WPCare Basic includes no developer edits[1].
  • New pages and layout changes, on lower tiers. WP SitePlan’s Professional plan edits content on existing pages; publishing new posts or landing pages from existing templates and changing page layouts start at Enterprise[9].
  • Design work. WP SitePlan’s Design Subscription is a separate add-on starting at $900 a month, and accessibility work starts at $75 a month[9].
  • Hosting, unless bundled. WP Buffs works with any host, and its FAQ says “Our maintenance plans do not include hosting services”[10]; its Custom plan lists “Pantheon, AWS or VPS Hosting” as a feature[3]. WP SitePlan’s hosting add-on starts at $80 a month[9]. Fixmysite includes hosting only in its three hosting plans[4]. WebCare Studios’ Commerce plan ($349) and up lists hosting recommendations and free migration to Kinsta, WP Engine or Cloudways[5]. SiteCare lists its own hosting as included in both plans[6].
  • More than one site. WP Buffs: “each website requires it’s own plan”[3].
  • Bigger sites on entry plans. WP Buffs says WooCommerce, membership, multi-language and on-site payment sites need its $239 Perform plan[3].

Read the cancellation terms. GoWP, WPCare, WebCare Studios and Fixmysite say month to month, cancel any time[2][1][5][4]; WebCare Studios and Fixmysite add a 30-day money-back guarantee[5][4]. WP Buffs lets you cancel any time, but its terms say “Payments are not refundable”[26], and its FAQ says refunds are “No for monthly plans, yes for yearly plans”[10].

Can you maintain WordPress yourself?

Yes, and WordPress.org documents most of what you need. Here is what it does for you and what it leaves to you.

  • Automatic: minor and security releases of WordPress itself install on their own, and the docs strongly discourage turning that off[16][17]. New installations from WordPress 5.6 on also get major core releases automatically, and translation files update by default[17].
  • Your choice per plugin: you can enable automatic updates for individual plugins[18]; WordPress.org says plugins and themes update on their own only in special cases set by its security team[17].
  • Manual on older sites: major WordPress releases, unless major auto-updates were switched on (existing installations keep the earlier behavior)[17].
  • Manual: backups. WordPress.org says to “Back up your database regularly, and always before an upgrade,” to back up weekly for smaller sites and daily for busy ones, and to keep at least 3–5 recent backups[27].
  • Manual: checking the site after updates, since “problems can happen during the update process”[18].
  • Manual: the PHP version, which your host runs and which loses security support on a fixed schedule[22].

Automatic updates are not a complete answer. Patchstack found that 46% of 2025’s new WordPress vulnerabilities had no developer fix at the time they were made public, so there was nothing to update to yet[8].

If you do it yourself, set a routine: back up, update, then click through your contact form and key pages. The FTC’s small-business advice says the same in general terms: set a schedule for updates, turn on automatic updates and back up regularly[28].

Is there an alternative to paying for a WordPress maintenance plan?

Yes, and it follows from the numbers above. Almost all of the upkeep in a WordPress plan exists because of the software stack: core releases, plugins, themes, the database and the PHP version they run on[16][18][21][22]. The vulnerability reports put 91–96% of new flaws in plugins[8][23][24]. A site rebuilt without WordPress plugins has fewer third-party add-ons to patch; BaaDigi’s own description of its standard site is that it “has no database and no admin login”[29]. Less is not nothing: someone still has to handle hosting, the domain, the security certificate and the site’s own code.

There are two honest ways to act on that.

  • Keep WordPress, cut the edit cost. Some WordPress plans now include AI editing. GoWP’s AI Editor lets you “Make website changes by asking,” with 5 AI edits a month on its free plan and 15 on Pro at $39[2].
  • Leave WordPress and edit with your own AI. This is what BaaDigi sells. AI Website Management is $97 a month plus a $300 one-time setup, month to month[12]. We rebuild your current site on Next.js (up to 15 standard pages; online stores, membership sites, web apps, portals, complex booking or calculators and large content migrations are quoted separately), host it on Vercel with Cloudflare in front, filter spam on your lead forms, send leads to your inbox, install analytics and connect your own AI to the site[12].

How the AI editing works: your words, photos, services and FAQs are kept separate from the code, and your AI may change content only. Every change goes to a preview first, automated checks run, you approve it, then it publishes; every change is saved and can be rolled back[12]. You need your own Claude Code (from Anthropic) or Codex CLI (from OpenAI) subscription, which you pay for directly; BaaDigi sets up either one on your setup call[12]. There are no done-for-you changes at $97[12]. If you want help, the $147 Predictable Work Website plan adds one update request a month (up to 30 minutes) and a dashboard, and Foundation Engine at $297 a month plus $700 setup does changes for you[12][29]. You own the domain, code, content and lead data, and the code is transferred to you if you leave[12].

This is a trade, not a free upgrade. You give up the WordPress plugin library and the WordPress admin screen; anything a plugin did for you has to be rebuilt or dropped, and features outside standard pages cost extra[12]. You also need to be comfortable using Claude Code or Codex CLI, on a subscription you pay for yourself, to make your own changes, and your AI may change content only[12]. If your business runs on WooCommerce, a membership plugin or an online course, staying on WordPress with a plan is likely the better call.

For how owners edit a site through ChatGPT or Claude on different platforms, see our guide to editing your website with ChatGPT or Claude.

Which option fits you?

  • Do it yourself. Likely a fit if your WordPress site is a few pages with a handful of plugins, and you will log in on a schedule to update, back up and test the site. Leave WordPress’s automatic minor updates on and follow its backup guidance.
  • Hire a WordPress maintenance company. Likely a fit if you rely on plugins that do real work (a store, bookings, memberships, courses), you have staff who know the WordPress admin, or the site is too important to leave to you. Match the plan to the site: WP Buffs puts WooCommerce and membership sites on its $239 tier, and WebCare Studios has a $349 plan for WooCommerce[3][5]. Compare edit allowances, response times and whether hosting is included.
  • Pay for a premium WordPress firm. Likely a fit if the site is business critical and you want strategy meetings or a guaranteed response time: SiteCare’s Diamond plan lists a one-hour SLA[6].
  • Move to a managed setup you edit with AI. Likely a fit if your site is standard pages (services, about, contact, FAQs), most of your requests are text and photo changes, and you would rather make them yourself in plain English than wait on a ticket. You give up WordPress plugins and the admin screen in exchange for less software to maintain.

Frequently asked questions

How much does WordPress maintenance cost per month?
Most WordPress maintenance plans start at $39–$99 a month for one site. Among the eight providers checked on October 1, 2026, WPCare and GoWP Pro start at $39, WP Buffs at $89, and Fixmysite and WebCare Studios at $99 (Fixmysite’s yearly billing is $89). Top tiers run up to $799, and premium firms such as SiteCare ($2,190 for Diamond) and Valet ($2,000) charge more.
Is a WordPress maintenance plan worth it?
It is worth it if nobody on your team will update, back up and test the site on a schedule, or if you rely on plugins for a store, bookings or memberships. Most new WordPress security flaws are found in plugins, so a site with plugins needs regular updates. If you will do that work yourself, WordPress.org documents automatic updates and backups.
Does WordPress update itself automatically?
Mostly, for WordPress core. Since WordPress 3.7, minor and security releases install automatically by default. Per WordPress.org, new installations since WordPress 5.6 also get major core releases automatically by default, while existing installations keep the earlier behavior unless major auto-updates are switched on. Translation files update by default; plugins and themes update on their own only in special cases set by the WordPress security team, and otherwise you enable plugin automatic updates yourself. WordPress.org advises a current backup before any update.
Is WordPress insecure?
Here are the figures. Patchstack’s 2026 report counted 11,334 new WordPress-ecosystem vulnerabilities in 2025, up 42% on 2024: 91% in plugins, 9% in themes and six in WordPress core, all low priority. It also found 46% had no developer fix when publicly disclosed. Wordfence’s 2024 report counted 8,223 vulnerabilities for 2024 and rated over 68% low risk to most site owners. Each company sells WordPress security services and counts its own database; these reports do not settle the question either way.
What is the difference between a WordPress care plan and website management?
Companies use the names in different ways, so compare what each plan lists rather than its name. The core of most plans is updates, backups, monitoring and security; the difference is usually the edit allowance. WP Buffs’ entry plan does not state any edits, while its next tier includes unlimited edits; WPCare’s plans range from no edits to about 60 minutes a month.
Can I avoid WordPress maintenance altogether?
You can reduce it by moving to a site without WordPress plugins, which leaves fewer third-party add-ons to patch, but you give up the WordPress plugin library and admin screen. Hosting, the domain, security certificates and the site’s code still need someone to look after them.

Related reading

Sources

Every source was opened and read on the date shown. Vendor prices change; check the vendor's page before buying. How we research: methodology.

  1. WPCare: WordPress maintenance — checked 2026-10-01
  2. GoWP: pricing — checked 2026-10-01
  3. WP Buffs: WordPress care plans — checked 2026-10-01
  4. Fixmysite: WordPress care plans — checked 2026-10-01
  5. WebCare Studios: pricing — checked 2026-10-01
  6. SiteCare: pricing — checked 2026-10-01
  7. Valet Website Advisors: home page (featured care plan) — checked 2026-10-01
  8. Patchstack: State of WordPress Security in 2026 (covers 2025) — checked 2026-10-01
  9. WP SitePlan: pricing — checked 2026-10-01
  10. WP Buffs: FAQ — checked 2026-10-01
  11. Valet Website Advisors: maintenance and management plans (vendor) — checked 2026-10-01
  12. BaaDigi: AI Website Management pricing and scope — checked 2026-10-01
  13. Pantheon learning center: WordPress maintenance plans — checked 2026-10-01
  14. DreamHost blog: WordPress maintenance plan (updated August 26, 2026) — checked 2026-10-01
  15. W3Techs: usage statistics of WordPress (October 1, 2026) — checked 2026-10-01
  16. WordPress.org documentation: updating WordPress — checked 2026-10-01
  17. WordPress.org documentation: configuring automatic background updates — checked 2026-10-01
  18. WordPress.org documentation: manage plugins — checked 2026-10-01
  19. Make WordPress Core handbook: release cycle — checked 2026-10-01
  20. WordPress.org: release archive — checked 2026-10-01
  21. WordPress.org: requirements — checked 2026-10-01
  22. PHP.net: supported versions — checked 2026-10-01
  23. Patchstack: State of WordPress Security in 2025 (covers 2024) — checked 2026-10-01
  24. Wordfence: 2024 Annual WordPress Vulnerability and Threat Report (published April 2025) — checked 2026-10-01
  25. Sucuri: 2023 Hacked Website & Malware Threat Report — checked 2026-10-01
  26. WP Buffs: terms of service — checked 2026-10-01
  27. WordPress.org documentation: WordPress backups — checked 2026-10-01
  28. FTC: cybersecurity for small business — checked 2026-10-01
  29. BaaDigi: website maintenance services and plans — checked 2026-10-01